Installing on BeagleBone Black

More
14 May 2018 02:16 #110711 by EricS
Hi everyone, I realize this is a LinuxCNC forum but I thought I'd post here with some questions on installing MachineKit.

I have a Beaglebone Black Wireless and I've loaded the MachineKit image onto it and it works fine, except for the wifi which apparently isn't part of the of the Machinekit image.

I loaded the stock Beaglebone image onto it which does have Wifi support (and it's working)

I tried to follow these instructions to install machinekit and the kernel:

www.machinekit.io/docs/getting-started/installing-packages/ #8

The keyserver command isn't working for some reason.

I have basic knowledge of Linux, but I am not a coder. Is this something basic that I'm doing wrong? Should I be cloning this from the MachineKit Gifhub?

Sorry if these are really basic questions..

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 May 2018 02:43 #110712 by InMyDarkestHour
Well it's a bit hard without any indication of what the error message is.

All in all your best bet would be the machinekit google group, you'll get an answer there for sure.

If you are getting a msg relate to dirmngr this should fix it

sudo apt-get install dirmngr

More
14 May 2018 11:41 #110722 by EricS
I did post on the MachineKit forum, and as of this first post, there wasn't a response. That forums seems a little slow compared to this one... Plus I wanted to fool with PathPilot so I thought I'd get posting here.

So I did install dirmnger and that got me a lot farther, but I'm getting a "no keyserver available" error now. The Beagle has a solid internet connection, so could this be on their end or mine? I'm not sure how to test/figure it out.

More
14 May 2018 12:17 - 14 May 2018 12:24 #110725 by InMyDarkestHour