2.8 repo for Ubuntu 16.04

More
23 May 2018 18:20 - 23 May 2018 18:22 #111070 by deusex25
Hi guys.

Does anyone have an idea if 2.8 apt sources will be created for modern versions of Ubuntu (i.e. 16.04 and/or later)?
I have found a workaround with step-by-step of how to compile realtime kernel and install LinuxCNC on modern versions of Ubuntu, but it's not for everyone.
I'm not a profi, have tried it on a few PC's but managed to get it done only once!
There is a lot of people, who would like to switch from Mach3 to LinuxCNC, but complexity of installation keeps them away.
Would be nice to get it as an alternative installation option (same as for Ubuntu 12).
Last edit: 23 May 2018 18:22 by deusex25. Reason: Grammar correction.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
24 May 2018 00:56 #111073 by InMyDarkestHour
2.8 is still marked as a development version
2.7 is the stable version

Installation is fairly easy if you use the official iso.

The HOWTO for Linux Mint 18 works if you follow the directions as written (actually it is very well written, even having been a Slackware user I found it very comprehensive, never having done things "the debian way"), Mint 18.1 is based on ubuntu 16.04 (xenial). If you have any issues they will have been covered in the the thread.....it's a long one and just about every issue has been seen and resolved, except alien invasion.

Starting from a blank HDD or SDD Linuxcnc is easier and quicker than installing XP (or win2k) and then Mach3......give it go ;)

More
24 May 2018 08:02 - 24 May 2018 08:03 #111074 by deusex25
Replied by deusex25 on topic 2.8 repo for Ubuntu 16.04
Hi.

Thanks for reply. Yes, I've seen this HOWTO. It's impressive. However my point is that if this software will be pre-compiled and placed in one repo it will be even more easier for new guys.
I know, that version 2.8 is still in beta mode, that why I was asking if this version will be available (after becoming stable) in few steps: