I am a machinist, not a Linux nerd. Please help me.

More
27 Mar 2020 04:51 - 27 Mar 2020 05:35 #161674 by Analogy
My old faithful Windows XP machine I was using to drive a parallel port stepper driver with Mach 3 gave up the ghost. It looked like the best and cheapest way to get back up and running was to get myself a fanless mini-ITX PC, and since Windows XP won't run on it, drive it with LinuxCNC.

I'm currently in day three of trying to make this work. I've figured out that I need a Linux Kernel build with both RTAI and the Intel onboard graphics module, and that a full package containing this kernel, a Linux distribution, and LinuxCNC, is not available Because Reasons.

Can someone please write up a precise set of directions for accomplishing this, which preferably involves simply downloading packages and installing them rather than spending a day building things from source on a Celeron, and once you've done that, put it up in the documentation or a wiki or a sticky post because I'm surely not the only person who just wants the most direct path to a working CNC machine.
Last edit: 27 Mar 2020 05:35 by Analogy.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
27 Mar 2020 05:06 #161675 by BeagleBrainz
Have you tried this ?
forum.linuxcnc.org/9-installing-linuxcnc...cnc?start=140#159389

If you have and that doesn't work I can put together one with intel drivers. The only issue being that getting better than 1024x768 screen resolution can be a bit hit and miss even with the intel drivers.

What is the exact make and model of your PC or a link to the product page.

At the end of the day you may have to get into the BIOS\UEFI settings, to setup the right boot process. The best thing is you're not gunna release any smoke.

More
27 Mar 2020 05:32 #161677 by Analogy