LinuxCNC with Probe Basic

More
22 Aug 2020 18:50 #179023 by CNCer
I used to program CNC G&M codes back in the late 1980s in printed circuit board manufacturing - large scale. Seems like soooo long ago. Anyway, I'm just beginning to dabble in machining metal and am researching my first manual mill purchase. Having said that, at some point I would like to turn this manual mill into a CNC mill. Luckily I happened across this forum.

I've been a Linux user for years with my favorite distro being Debian Cinnamon edition. I'm currently running Debian 10 Buster. I would like to install LinuxCNC with Probe Basic to play with while saving for my mill. I've read a few posts but not sure where to start. Any suggestions would be most helpful. Thank you.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
22 Aug 2020 20:09 #179025 by anfänger
Replied by anfänger on topic LinuxCNC with Probe Basic
Hi,

Actually this is not that difficult

kcjengr.github.io/probe_basic/dev_install.html

Is used this twice to install probe basic.

Some packages are missing when compiling, but if you know your way around Linux it’s easy to load them and recompile

Have fun with it

Patrick

More
22 Aug 2020 20:44 - 22 Aug 2020 20:46 #179031 by chris@cnc
Replied by chris@cnc on topic LinuxCNC with Probe Basic
Hi,
it is very good to know what the end is. I can't give you a manual, but I can give you an example of how I started. I no longer wanted to push my router bits over the wood by hand. I still have Debian 9 and my sources.list
echo deb buildbot.linuxcnc.org/ stretch 2.8-rtpreempt >>/etc/apt/sources.list added and read the installation instructions here.
Debian 10 is written here.
forum.linuxcnc.org/9-installing-linuxcnc...ick-and-easy-install