help with LinuxCNC on Rock Pi 4B+

More
25 Jan 2022 19:51 #233096 by shannontoll
Hello All,

Has anyone been able to get LinuxCNC to work on a Rock Pi 4B+ or similar Rock Pi? I'm just getting started on one since I couldn't find an in stock Raspberry Pi4. I just know some basics in Linux and could use a bit of help.

Thanks everyone

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
25 Jan 2022 20:57 #233105 by shannontoll
I should note I'm planning on using a mesa board.

More
25 Jan 2022 23:20 - 25 Jan 2022 23:21 #233116 by PCW
Unless there is a pre-built real-time kernel for the Rock Pi, I think you will have
to build the kernel from source (not impossible a but a bit fussy)
and build LinuxCNC from source.
Last edit: 25 Jan 2022 23:21 by PCW.

More
25 Jan 2022 23:45 #233120 by shannontoll
Yea I haven't located one. Everywhere I look I see MX_Master posts in the forums. building a kernel is far outside my comfort zone. Armbian seems to have many distros for rock pi but not sure if any have real time kernel

More
26 Jan 2022 04:14 #233147 by ALittleOffTheRails
It's daunting if you haven't built a kernel before.

Best way to get a hang of it is install debian in a virtual machine, get your sources, use an existing config and let it build. Install it and see how it goes. Next jump in and make a change here or there and go again.
Then add the RT_PREEMPT patch, config it for realtime and go again. Rinse and repeat a few times.

By now now you should have the hang of it. Whilst it may take a bit longer to build natively on the Rock you may find it a bit easier.

Here's quick description:
www.linuxfromscratch.org/lfs/view/9.1/chapter08/kernel.html

The Debian Way:
wiki.debian.org/BuildADebianKernelPackage

A bit more in depth:
kernel-team.pages.debian.net/kernel-handbook/

Luckily nowadays you don't have to start building the kernel at night, goto to work and then come home from work and look if it failed or not. hahaha

More