Newbie struggles re. bootable USB

More
27 Jul 2022 19:45 - 01 Aug 2022 04:16 #248450 by Doug @ Design8Studio.com
Hello! I've had good success in bygone years with creating "Hackintosh" laptops. But I am new to Linux in general, and I'm currently trying to install LinuxCNC on an Acer Aspire laptop with touch screen (Intel i5, with 8GB of ram) to create a system to drive a CNC plasma cut table I am building.

I first tried the ...
 ...from the main downloads page.

I am on a Mac as far as downloading ISO and making bootable. However, I could also work from Windows 10, as I have that both on the laptop being targeted for LinuxCNC, as well as Windows 10 in a virtual machine on the MacBook Pro. 

The MacOS image mounter cannot open or mount the ISO as is because: "no mountable file systems"

I tried using Mac's Disk Utility to "restore" the ISO to the USB. But, "the image does not have a checksum so it cannot be verified.

I then tried using the terminal in the Mac, using steps from here: 
HOW TO MAKE A BOOTABLE USB STICK FROM AN ISO FILE ON AN APPLE MAC OS X
from www.lewan.com/blog/2012/02/10/making-a-b...mac-os-x-from-an-iso

That got me to a USB that was supposedly bootable and could be ejected for trying. However, attempts to boot the Acer laptop from the resulting USB drive fail, with "Default boot device missing or Boot Failed."

I tried to download and use win32imager, as it was mentioned in a post here. However, it seems to be source files that need compiled, and I don't know how to compile them.

I repeated the above steps with Linux Mint 21 BETA in trying for LinuxCNC 2.9 or Master on that. Got basically the same failures.

Would anyone be able to nudge me in the right direction? Thanks in advance for helping a newbie.
Last edit: 01 Aug 2022 04:16 by Doug @ Design8Studio.com.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
27 Jul 2022 21:54 #248474 by Doug @ Design8Studio.com
UPDATE: success —