start4.elf not compatible

More
24 Aug 2022 17:01 #250335 by NDF
Hello, I am new to linux and cnc both. I am currently just trying to get linux cnc running on a rpi4 with 2gb ram (board says 2018 on it). when trying to boot the install image linuxcnc-uspace_2.8.1_amd64.deb I get the error start4.elf not compatible. I found that some people had this issue in other contexts and they found that an eeprom update resolved the issue so I booted this rpi with a standard 64 bit rpi operating system and ran an eeprom update. This did nothing to change the problem. I am out of ideas and have looked everywhere for help.

It may also be relevant that what I was using this rpi for before was a rak lora gateway so idk if that install reformated the onboard firmware.

Am I correct in understanding that this is a compatibility issue between onboard firware(eeprom) and software(linux cnc image)?
I as well have a rpi 400 that I could use for this cnc build so if anyone could point me to a good install method for a 400 that would work too. When trying that install I was unable to make the network connectivity work therefore I was unable to install mesaflash which I need.

Thank you all so much for your help!!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
24 Aug 2022 19:40 #250347 by arvidb
Replied by arvidb on topic start4.elf not compatible
You cannot run amd64 binaries on a Raspberry Pi - the Pi has an arm processor! So you need binaries built for arm(64?), not amd64. (This is not something you can solve with an eeprom update - use the correct boot image instead.)

More
25 Aug 2022 00:35 #250366 by NDF
Replied by NDF on topic start4.elf not compatible
*correction the install image I am trying to boot is linuxcnc-2.8.1-pi4.zip not uspace for amd

More
25 Aug 2022 00:36 #250367 by NDF
Sorry I copied the wrong file path I was actually using the rpi4 install image from linuxcnc.org/docs/html/getting-started/getting-linuxcnc.html

More