Does Linux reinstall when I boot LinuxCNC install from USB?

More
12 Jan 2024 19:39 #290524 by Tialderaed
Hello All,
I've been unable to determine the answer to my topic question by searching this part of the forum, and as a Linux noob I have this question: when I install LinuxCNC from a bootable USB (made with Balena Etcher for AMD64) the process appears to reinstall Linux.  I have always cancelled the install when it asks for a password (for root?) since looks like it's about to overwrite my existing Linux Debian 12 install.
Should I continue without a password?
When will the process actually get to the  LinuxCNC installation?
My thanks in advance, and Cheers.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Jan 2024 23:01 #290535 by cornholio
If you chose the Install option it will overwrite an existing install if you have no extra space on your drive.

linuxcnc.org/docs/stable/html/getting-st...ml#_testing_linuxcnc
The following user(s) said Thank You: Tialderaed

More
12 Jan 2024 23:41 #290537 by rodw
You can just save a copy of your ~/linuxcnc folder to other media/usb stick
Then install the later version and restore the folder
You will loose any customisations you have made to the linux operating system but linuxcnc will remain the same once restored.

More
13 Jan 2024 21:31 #290589 by Tialderaed
Thank you. Can you tell me how to get to the LinuxCNC install and bypass the Linux installation?
I guess that coming from a Windows background the need for a bootable application installation media seems weird.

More
13 Jan 2024 21:34 #290590 by Tialderaed
Thanks> Can I get to the LinuxCNC install with a keystroke combination or ? It seems strange to me to have to reinstall and OS to install an application.
Thanks again!

More
13 Jan 2024 21:50 #290591 by PCW

More
13 Jan 2024 22:41 #290594 by rodw