linuxcnc_2.9.1-amd64.hybrid.iso Intallation fail

More
24 May 2024 23:26 #301363 by kzali
I am trying to install linuxcnc_2.9.1-amd64.hybrid.iso, on an intel nuc core i5 8gb Ram.  It has wlan and LAN.  Connected to LAN.  The live version works including networking! but if I try an install it goes to a stage where it asks for some intel network drivers.  when i cancel it just goes to a screen where it says setting up network and freezes.  I used Rufus to make the usb (Never had this problem with 2.8 versions,  have dowloaded twice and checked with two different usb's.  Totally stumped, can some seniors advise.  I am new to Linux.
Thanks in advance

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
25 May 2024 02:24 #301367 by cornholio
It's going to be helpful to mention the nic chipset. I've found it to be an issue with the 2.5GB realtek chips. From what I've seen it appears to be a firmware issue.

Tho I have advised on how to get around this issue.

More
25 May 2024 03:39 #301371 by kzali
It has an intel nic chipset. I didnt fully comrehend the workaround you had advised. By that I mean which version of debian and deskktop etc

More
25 May 2024 08:04 #301377 by cornholio
Grab a bookworm netinstall iso.

Install XFCE desktop.

Then install Linuxcnc.
The following user(s) said Thank You: tommylight

More
25 May 2024 08:37 #301380 by kzali
Thanks Mate you are alway an inspiration
Cheers
The following user(s) said Thank You: tommylight

More
29 May 2024 12:31 #301747 by cornholio
Another option is to use the text installer > expert mode and manually configure the network, post installation this can be changed to DHCP or left as a static address.

More
03 Jun 2024 10:25 #302233 by rodw
I now exclusively use Balena Etcher to burn ISO's. It is by far the best.
The later versions of linux are harder to install so  have had issues with rufus

More
03 Jun 2024 13:37 - 03 Jun 2024 13:57 #302240 by cornholio