Ubuntu install

More
25 Jun 2024 14:40 #303753 by cncproject2024
I have been given a laptop that runs ubuntu for a linuxcnc machine. Will I need to wipe the laptop and install debian instead, or am I able to download linuxcnc onto ubuntu (even though everything I see online says its for debian) in the same way that I would onto debian? Sorry for such a simple question, I am completely new to this.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
25 Jun 2024 16:15 #303758 by tommylight
Replied by tommylight on topic Ubuntu install
What version of Ubuntu does it run?
-
In general, laptops are no good for running machines due to power saving options, but some can be used, rarely.
Running LinuxCNC in simulation mode with no hardware can be done and used comfortably as it does not need strict timing.
-
If the laptop has the new Ubuntu 24.04, then you can install LinuxCNC just by typing this in a terminal:
sudo apt update
sudo apt upgrade
sudo apt install linuxcnc-uspace
This will work for sim, but will not work for machine control as Ubuntu has restrictions regarding the required RT kernels, and although it can be made to work, it is much easier to use the ready made image for 2.9.2 from the downloads page.
You can download that image and write it to a USB stick then boot the laptop from it, it will run LinuxCNC without installing it, so you can at least do some tests and see if the latency is acceptable/usable or not usable.
Also, go into laptop BIOS and disable all power saving options, C states, hyperthreading, TPM, and whatever you do not need.

More
27 Jun 2024 11:34 #303888 by cncproject2024
Replied by cncproject2024 on topic Ubuntu install