installing the manual tool change

More
07 Aug 2015 21:49 - 07 Aug 2015 22:58 #61206 by Stonefire
Hi folks

I'm a total newbee in LinuxCnC and nearly too in Ubuntu.
I've been trying to activate the manual too change, without any luck.
I'm sure tha the hardware is working. Just need to set the program up to use it....

Can anyone help me with some kind of toturial, step-by-step, foolproof how to set this function up ? I'm using the latest version og Linuxcnc...

Sincerly
Steen
Last edit: 07 Aug 2015 22:58 by Stonefire.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
08 Aug 2015 13:13 #61211 by ArcEye
Hi,

Unless you deselected it when producing your config with stepconf, it is already there.

I suspect you need to read the manuals and learn what M6 does.

regards

More
08 Aug 2015 14:15 #61213 by Stonefire
Hi ArcEye

Thanks for your reply.
I think your are right
Late last night I found out that it is a Gladevcp-extension I'm missing.
One that can control the proces of measuring the tool-length and return to the actual job.

It has to very simple to use and install. I don't need one with many options.
Have you any suggestions where I can find one already made?

Sincerly
Steen
Denmark

More
08 Aug 2015 14:39 #61214 by ArcEye
The manual toolchange component is called hal_manualtoolchange and will be installed in /usr/bin

It appears you are talking about some other unspecified program.

There is a version of it that allows jogging whilst paused for tool change, but that does not use gladevcp

You are going to have to be specific about what you are trying to do and with what

regards

More
08 Aug 2015 14:54 #61215 by Stonefire
Hi ArcEye

Okay, thanks. I'll try:

What I want is an option to use my tool-length-sensor, so I can change my tool - and the computer mesaures the new tool-length and adjust it to the right z-coordinat.