GmoccaPY first steps

More
13 Mar 2017 21:55 - 13 Mar 2017 22:05 #89555 by swalts
GmoccaPY first steps was created by swalts
All,

Background info:
I am an amateur user trying to mill a part on my PM 25-mv mill converted to cnc. I can run single tool (no tool changes) with no problem. The whole thing goes hay wire when I have to make a tool change. That is when I went internet searching for a better way than running divided or separate operations. I found GmoccaPY and installed and ran a single tool operation without software failure.
While trying to run multiple operations and change my end mills out during the transition from operation to operation. This causes some sort of offset and eventually leads to catastrophic failure (Ex. broken end mill, spindle diving into the material...).

The only thing I am trying to do is change my end mill and reset the height of the tool properly. Also have a nice cool looking interface. I have a touch off plate but don't know what to do with it (or how to wire it or tell gmoccapy that its there.)

After install of gmoccapy( cool looking interface), I noticed that I could not perform the function I am wanting to do. The forums mention setting up a HAL pin, running macros or sub-routines. The information seems to be geared toward computer wizards as far as instruction goes.

My questions:
1. What are HAL pins and do i need them to perform the tool offset measurement? If so, are there any layman term instructions out there for me to follow?
2. Is there a step-by-step instruction for setting up macros or sub-routines to command the mill to move to the measurement location?
3. Is there anything else that I am missing that prevents me from making this work? Aside from growing a new brain.
4. Last question. Any way to get the keyboard arrows to work again? That's an if your bored question.

Thank you for your time and patience.

Very Respectfully,
swalts
Last edit: 13 Mar 2017 22:05 by swalts. Reason: added last question