Help on updating Gmoccapy 1.5.8 to current release?

More
20 Jan 2018 20:05 - 20 Jan 2018 20:33 #104751 by nigel-tufnel
I have working versions of Axis 2,7,11 and Gmoccapy 1.5.8 that took me forever to get customized/debugged since I am a Linux newbie . So I want to get current on my Gmoccapy but I am nervous about losing my current functionality and not clear how to even update my existing Gmoccapy. Questions:

1) The automatic updates on my Linux PC seems to keep me current on Axis versions. I assume Gmoccapy isn't automatically updated, correct?
2) Can I install or update the latest Gmoccappy and still have the 1.5.8 version on my machine? I would like to have the option of having my working version of 1.5.8 while trying to debug the latest Gmoccapy.
3) In simplistic layman's terms, how do I update to the current Gmoccapy? I've searched and read the Gmoccapy doc but have not found walk through steps.

I'm running Wheezy. Any help appreciated. Thanks!
Last edit: 20 Jan 2018 20:33 by nigel-tufnel.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
21 Jan 2018 11:26 #104773 by andypugh
Updating / Upgrading LinuxCNC versions should not normally touch anything in your home LinuxCNC directory, which is where all your customisations probably are.

The exception to this is 2.8 / current master which needs to update the HAL and INI files to suit the new system, where joints and axes are not the same thing.

This script _shouldn't_ lose any custom changes, and it makes a complete backup of the original config too.

More
21 Jan 2018 17:54 #104803 by nigel-tufnel
Good to know but how do I get the current release of Gmoccapy? Or is the 1.5.8 Gmoccapy the current release for the current release of 2.7.11 Linuxcnc?

More
21 Jan 2018 21:20 - 21 Jan 2018 21:27 #104818 by Grotius
@Nigel,

You can update with the synaptic package manager. This is in your system menu if you are using linuxcnc from installed from cd.