Gmoccapy and Stretch Preempt RT..... :(

More
19 May 2018 02:30 #110871 by Lcvette
Hey all,

I am fairly new to linuxcnc so many things go over my head and I'm slowly learning my way around as i go. I bit off a bit more than i can chew and of course selecting a 7i92 board was very helpful physically with wire routing and component placement but has been very difficult in the way of software setup and configuring.

My issue I have been facing is with a configuration setup from a friend who has an identical machine but who is running a 5i25/7i77/7i76 where i am running a 7i92/7i77/7i76. the preempt rt kernel in stretch has thrown in some curve balls that made what should have been a pretty much plug and play setup a bit of a nightmare for a beginner to linux and linuxcnc.

i managed to get all of my basic configuring completed and adjusted with alot of reading and help from forum members and IRC late night and long day chats and many pastebin posts. and as of now it seems that most of the issues i can resolve are fixed and it is down to a more in depth level of troubleshooting i no longer have the skill set to handle and many others are even shying away from due to lack of experience with the stretch platform, gmoccapy GUI or combination of the two.

so I am here in hopes that some of you may have confronted these issues and found a resolution or if not could possibly help me find one and maybe those who come after who may encounter the same problems.