move pyvcp buttons and displays to gmoccapy

More
08 Dec 2022 21:49 #258916 by piflixe
Hi there! I am still very new to customising the LinuxCNC UI so I hope this question is not already covered by the documentation. Since I have installed a touch screen recently I am evaluating the more touch friendly GUIs for LinuxCNC. gmoccapy or probe_basic seemed like a good choice to me. I would like to move the custom panels created with pyvcp for the axis UI to gmoccapy (or probe_basic respectively). The custom panel covers some custom outputs, Z-touch off and spindle revolution and load. I got the impression that not only gladevcp but also pyvcp could be included in gmoccapy. But I could not find anything about the syntax in the documentation. So if someone could give me a hint I would really appreciate that.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
09 Dec 2022 00:55 #258950 by andypugh
It is possible that gmoccapy only supports user tabs and not side-mounted panels. The docs don't say that (that I saw) but seem to suggest it.

You can always have the pyvcp panel free-floating and arrange things on screen to your liking (not sure how to keep it that way, though)

a plain "loadusr -Wn pyvcp ........(ie, the filename etc)" in the HAL file will open your panel.

Have you considered building exactly what you want based on Gscreen?

More
09 Dec 2022 07:46 #258972 by HansU

a plain "loadusr -Wn pyvcp ........(ie, the filename etc)" in the HAL file will open your panel.

or
EMBED_TAB_COMMAND = pyvcp filename.xml
But that also gives you a free-floating panel. I don't know either if embedded pyvcp's are supported in gmoccapy.

More
09 Dec 2022 07:56 #258973 by HansU