LinuxCNC newbie adding 5th Axis to PathPilot

More
19 Apr 2021 17:43 #206429 by miksak
So I am really new to LinuxCNC, I don't really even know how to ask this question. Sorry in advance if this gets long.

Backstory:
I built a CNC laser welder last year and purchased a pre-built LinuxCNC controller and had really good luck with it.
The project was successful for the parts I was making and I now need to increase my throughput by 3X. So I'm going to build a more capable welder that I can hopefully tend with a robot.

Current:
I've ordered a Tormach 1100MX and an IPG 150W QCW fiber laser welder which I will use in place of the spindle.

I ordered the microARC4 4th axis as well but I still need an additional axis (a B-Axis on the head with about 60° degrees of motion).

After ordering everything I realized that PathPilot is limited to 4 Axis and I am definitely going to need a 5th.

Is it possible to drive a 5th axis using PathPilot?
Where should I start as a complete LinuxCNC newb?
Is it inappropriate to ask members of the community for a quote to make the modifications, if anyone is interested?

The mechanical side is my strong suit as I have experience in that, the control side I'm in over my head.
My machine and laser welder arrive in a few weeks and I'd like to be running in the next few months.

I appreciate any insights.

Thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
20 Apr 2021 23:30 #206588 by andypugh

After ordering everything I realized that PathPilot is limited to 4 Axis and I am definitely going to need a 5th.
Is it possible to drive a 5th axis using PathPilot?

Ot might be, I don't know.

But it should be pretty easy to run the Tormach with standard LinuxCNC and one of the other GUIs.

And I doubt that the conversational milling of Pathpilot is particularly useful for laser welding, so you probably wouldn't lose much.

More
22 Apr 2021 00:50 #206751 by Vmax549