Software guy, hardware questions: How exactly do I control my Hypertherm PM65?

More
23 Mar 2018 07:50 #107746 by swolebro
So, please bear with me here. I'm a software guy with a welding a hobby - ie. I'm a competent novice, and I've got questions.

I've finally got myself a permanent shop space, so it's time to get my Powermax 65 the gantry table it deserves... at least, a gantry table, period. I figure I'll do this build on-the-cheap (while I work through all my rookie mistakes) and upgrade it in time. Use the plasma to make a plasma, etc.

I'm at the point where I've got Linux CNC installed on an old desktop steppers are spinning happily along, sitting on my coffee table, while the screen traces out the letters "LinuxCNC." If you're curious, the full set up is a Dell Optiplex 980, with a DB25-100 breakout board, four DQM542MA drivers, and four 425oz-in stepper motors. And there's a spare PCIe slot if I do ever decide/need to upgrade to a fancy Mesa controller card. Bonus fun: I installed a VNC server on the desktop (vino, specifically), so now it I can access it via my laptop, and run it without the monitor/keyboard/mouse. All well and good.

The next step for me would be to figure out how to control the machine torch, do a few tests on that, then start building the actual table. Worst case scenario: I've got one of those pendant switches for the torch, and could sit there and punch the button while the motors do the motions, but that's not exactly CNC.

So, firstly... Actually firing the torch. My understanding from the Hypertherm docs is that there are simply two pins on the CPC that you connect (eg. with a mosfet or a relay) and that's the equivalent of your trigger push. Makes sense. And most CNC controllers commandeer the M03/spindle-on opcode for that trigger, since the plasma is your cutting tool. Also makes sense. And in your stepconf, you can set a pin on your BOB to be pulled to 5V when M03 is seen, then dropped back to ground when you get M05.