Scratch Built 4x4 with Modified Toma Config (Long Post, Pic Heavy)

More
14 Sep 2018 16:25 #117539 by HomemadeNJ
Been almost two years to the day since I got help from Tommy with the Toma configuration on my first 2x2 plasma build. I've built a handful of tables over that time and have been sharing as much info as possible through Youtube, IG and my website. Most recently I designed and built a 4x4 from scratch that would be my machine to keep in my tiny garage. I went and bought everything I have been drooling over for a few years (within reason) and got to work. Wanted to share the outcome:

- Frame is 3x2, 3x3 and 5x2 box tubing, 1/8" wall. Entire frame is close to 500lbs for rigidity.
- 3030 extrusion for gantry and gantry risers.
- Fineline automation gear reduction drives and HD gear racks
- 20mm Hiwin style guides for X and Y
- Prototype Z axis from arclight dynamics with twin hiwin 15mm rails (ebay score)

- Keling 45v unregulated supply, 570oz motors and digital drives
- 5v Proximity Sensors for Homing. Running 2.8 Master branch for Gantry Squaring
- Twin c10 Breakout Boards
- Floating torch head with selectable Ohmic Sensing
- Hypertherm powermax 1000 with Duramax machine torch upgrade.

- Running 500ipm rapids and 50in/s acceleration. 1/8 stepping

Pics
File Attachment:

File Attachment:

File Attachment:

File Attachment:

File Attachment:

File Attachment:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
More
14 Sep 2018 16:26 #117541 by HomemadeNJ

More
14 Sep 2018 16:26 #117542 by HomemadeNJ
Final Assembly after Paint

File Attachment:

Proximity Sensor Mounting

File Attachment:

File Attachment:

File Attachment:

File Attachment:

More
14 Sep 2018 16:27 #117543 by HomemadeNJ

More
14 Sep 2018 16:28 #117544 by HomemadeNJ
Config Edits

File Attachment: