Recommanded good stepper motor with encoder for plasma CNC

More
29 Jul 2022 19:34 - 30 Jul 2022 10:25 #248646 by pit34
Hello,

I am currently designing my own 2x1m plasma table, with maybe a dual head with a wood router. This table would be used in my workshop.
I think I will go with LAM drivers, and I am looking to use closed-loop with stepper motors and encoders. I have seen a lot of steppers, with or without encoders. And I wonder if I should add encoders on motors, or go with motors already fit with encoders.
I have seen LAM motors with already fit encoders on mechapro.de. That seems good but are really expensive. I have no sufficient knowledge on stepper motors to know which one is a good bang for the buck, and which one not...

What stepper motor brand would you recommend going with the LAM drivers ?
If those motors are not fitted with encoders, which encoders brand would you recommend ?

Any tips are welcome ;)
Thanks in advance.

Last edit: 30 Jul 2022 10:25 by pit34.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
29 Jul 2022 20:03 - 29 Jul 2022 20:04 #248648 by rodw
Plasma has no cutting forces and will only loose steps if the motor gets hot from working outside its comfort zone becasue the velocities and accelleration settings in your config are too high. If your motor selection has been poor and they do get too hot, you can just reduce these settings (mostly acceleration) in your config.

Those of us using Lam are using their open loop drivers (eg DS1076/DS1076A and DS1073/DS1073A or their open frame LS equivalents) . Some of us use the Lam boost feature to reduce the current to the drives when at constant velocity as power requirements when not accelerating or decelerating and be as low as 15% of what is required when the motor is working. This lets the motor cool and perform at (much) higher levels without overheating and loosing steps.