Arc voltage question from Everlast 82i to THCAD-2

More
16 Jan 2024 17:32 #290885 by fmj435
Hello,

I have an Everlast 82i with a 7i96s and a THCAD-2. I'm very new to linuxcnc but I'm slowly catching on and enjoying learning everything. I have a few questions about the THC that I haven't been able to find the answers to:

So, a lot of what I have read says the best way to get voltage from an everlast is to connect directly to the ground and the torch inside the machine, which I have done. I have a little bit of confusion on which side goes where on the THCAD-2. My thought is that I go from the ground clamp side to a HV resistor 2.4m and then to the Negative side of the analog in on the THCAD-2. Then just connect the side from the torch to the positive. Is this correct? 

Second question is if I leave the frequency divide ratio jumper on the 1 if I am using the raw voltage through the resistor?

Finally I do see that if I'm using the raw voltage I should've purchased the THCAD-300. At the time of my purchase I thought I would be using the 50:1 divided voltage. Right now I am waiting on the resistor to run the raw voltage and just wondering if the 50:1 is worth trying and the main question that has already kept me from trying is what would I put the jumper for the frequency divide ratio on? 

Thanks for any help.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
16 Jan 2024 18:11 #290889 by PCW
The 2.4M resistor should be on the negative input (the plasma voltage)
Ground is positive on plasma machines.

The division ratio can be specified in the setup (/32 suggested)
The following user(s) said Thank You: fmj435

More
16 Jan 2024 18:16 #290890 by fmj435
Ah, that makes a lot more sense on why I was confused. Thanks for clearing that up.

More
16 Jan 2024 21:01 #290907 by rodw
The Everlast has a voltage divider builtin. Why reinvent the wheel?