The first build - Part 1 components and an overview

More
24 Feb 2024 11:46 #294195 by olli_
Hello everyone!

My hobby-interest in TIG-welding has opened up new paths on my fabricators journey. I mainly build exercise machines for my own use and I want to expand on my capabilities by building a CNC plasma table. Taking the long way is my go to in pretty much everything I do. I seem to be unable to just buy a plasma cutter and start cutting. I have some experience in using Fusion 360 and a few uni courses on Python coding (a long time ago). I have been relentlessly studying on my off time about plasma cutting in general, and about electrical motors for around three months.

This forum was a fantastic discovery, along with associated youtube channels. And ofcourse, I'm here to learn and ask for help before I buy the components.

MESAs mothercard and THCADs are what I want to go with and due to shortage on the EU-market I cannot pick up exactly the same parts as lets say Rod's Spaceship build.

I will be converting my laptop for Linux and use LinuxCNC. For features, I want to have voltage and ohmic sensing, as the build is going to be fairly large. (half a sheet) Having axes feedback is not a must, but would be great. The frame will be fabricated from 3 millimeters thick 70x70 steel box section. The gantry itself I might choose something like 2 millimeters thick 100x50 box section. Rack and pinion on all axes except Z-axes will have a ball screw.

The main components:
MESA 7i95T eusurplus.com/index.php?route=product/pr...=59_62&product_id=64
It has encoder feedback on all of the axes and I would like to use either hybrid-type stepper motor or servo motors for all axes.

2x MESA THCAD2 eusurplus.com/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=161 
One for controlling the Z-axes by voltage monitoring and one for ohmic sensing.

If I go with hybrid nema 23 stepper motors, do I need additional stepper drivers, or will the 7i95T be enough?