Probe Basic Help Newbie

More
13 Jun 2020 13:25 #171438 by harindugamlath
Hi,

I need a bit of help on using probe basic Gui. This is my first time with linux so I have a lot of learning.

I first get my mill to move on axis gui and then moved on to probe basic. I have two questions right now.

1. when I run the maintenance tool provided with the probe basic installer to update, I get the following error.

2. I am not getting tool wear offsets in the tool tables. My tool table looks like this. (Please don't mind the empty table. Its still the same with tool data)

while others look like this.

what am I missing here?
I tried to update with the maintenance tool and the above error appears.

Any help is appreciated.
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 Jun 2020 13:44 #171444 by bbsr_5a
Replied by bbsr_5a on topic Probe Basic Help Newbie
Hi
welcome

the error is that no repository
(A Linux repository is a storage location from which your system retrieves and installs OS updates and applications. Each repository is a collection of software hosted on a remote server and intended to be used for installing and updating software packages on Linux systems. ... Repositories contain thousands of programs

meaning it can not find QT related widgets on the net

2nd

if you run a MILL you will mot see Xoffsets or Y ofsets as it only has Z and Diameter

so all ok with your install for now
The following user(s) said Thank You: harindugamlath

More
13 Jun 2020 14:31 #171457 by harindugamlath
Thanks for the kind reply.

After about two years of running mach 3 on my 6090 router I switched to linux and currently doing a conversion for a old okuma howa vertical mill which I bought recently. So that's where I come from. :)

1. If it can't find the repository online with the maintenance tool how can I update or check the probe basic version with the terminal.