Porbe Basic Error On Startup

More
06 Dec 2020 07:37 #191210 by Phazertwo
Hello everyone, I am new to Linuxcnc, and am a rookie at best when it comes to Linux. I have played with Mint some and enjoy running it on my spare computer... but that's about it. I am pretty well versed in step/dir CNC control having setup and run a Mach 3 machines and 2 machines using Centroid Acorn, Both Acorn machines included probing and tool height setting, one of which was a collet spindle, and the M6 macro actually measure the tool after you install it and then kicks back into the program.

After watching some youtubes about Prob Basic, I decided I had better give it a shot for my next project...

Anyway, I followed the installation instructions here: kcjengr.github.io/probe_basic/quick_start.html

I have Linux CNC up and running and talking to my 6I25 and 7I76. I have a very basic setup operating with Axis, however when I try to open Probe basic I get this error:

RUN_IN_PLACE=no
LINUXCNC_DIR=
LINUXCNC_BIN_DIR=/usr/bin
LINUXCNC_TCL_DIR=/usr/lib/tcltk/linuxcnc
LINUXCNC_SCRIPT_DIR=
LINUXCNC_RTLIB_DIR=/usr/lib/linuxcnc/modules
LINUXCNC_CONFIG_DIR=
LINUXCNC_LANG_DIR=/usr/lib/tcltk/linuxcnc/msgs
INIVAR=inivar
HALCMD=halcmd
LINUXCNC_EMCSH=/usr/bin/wish8.6
LINUXCNC - 2.8.1
Machine configuration directory is '/home/test/linuxcnc/configs/probe_basic/probe_basic'
Machine configuration file is 'probe_basic.ini'
INIFILE=/home/test/linuxcnc/configs/probe_basic/probe_basic/probe_basic.ini
VERSION=1.1
PARAMETER_FILE=sim.var
TASK=milltask
HALUI=halui
DISPLAY=probe_basic
COORDINATES=X Y Z A B
KINEMATICS=trivkins coordinates=XYZAB
Starting LinuxCNC...
Starting LinuxCNC server program: linuxcncsvr
Loading Real Time OS, RTAPI, and HAL_LIB modules
Starting LinuxCNC IO program: io
Starting HAL User Interface program: halui
twopass:invoked with <> options
twopass:found ./hallib/core_sim_5.hal
twopass:found ./hallib/spindle_sim.hal
twopass:found ./hallib/simulated_home_probe_basic.hal