QtDragonHD tool sensor help for a maker space

More
28 Dec 2023 00:33 #289210 by warwickben
hello,
Ive been helping my maker space setup their cnc router on linux cnc , ive setup my own lathe in the past and but never had a use for probes for that. i also maintain and teach people at the maker space how to use the tormach we have.

ill try to give as much info as i can.  im a machinist by trade ,manual, and cnc programming and operating.

In the ini file i know we have versa probe commented out  so we are on basic probe. when we had versa probe not commented out and probe basic commented out when we click on the probe tabs it gave error codes etc.  from my understanding if all the probes are the same type ie normally open they will work fine being on the same pin.

simple test of the probe only doing z surface, comes down and changes our current z wcs zero. (worried about a probe in a maker space lol)

touch plate , that works correctly also comes down changes the current z vaule with the added thickness.

when i try todo the tool sensor is what im having issues with. when i click the button to go to sensor is dose that, when i click the tool sensor button it will then go and probe the tool.   the issue is it changes the current wcs z vaule to a vaule of -46.XXX i forget the decimal numbers. and dose not store the tool off set vaule.

from running haas and other vmc you leave the probe as a set tool number (we allways have it as the last tool pocket) all z vaules in the offset pages should be negative z vaules.  since they are machine cord.

thanks in advance.    any questions or files needed to review let me know.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
28 Dec 2023 04:57 #289230 by cmorley
What version of linuxcnc are you using and how did you get it please?
Sounds like you may have an older version - shouldn't get errors.

Probing could be improved for sure. I have a hard time testing at the moment with my setup.

More