RugBot 1000

24 Mar 2016 19:55 #72109 by Badger
Badger created the topic: RugBot 1000
I have been working on my rugbot for a few years now and it is finally up and running. Like many projects there is room for improvements. Many thanks to the kind folks here for their help. When I started I knew nothing about CNC and figured that open source was the only way to go. The key things I found were using Inkscape and gcodetools tangent knife to create the paths, then using "hypot" of only the X & Y axis to input a velocity command to drive the needle keeps even spacing at any speed. Thanks and I hope you find the video entertaining

The following user(s) said Thank You: geoffs
24 Mar 2016 22:56 #72116 by alan_3301
alan_3301 replied the topic: RugBot 1000
Wow, that is really cool! Good job!

If only there was more time in the day, I would want to make one of these.
11 Apr 2016 12:38 #73096 by Fastest1
Fastest1 replied the topic: RugBot 1000
That is cool. Good job.
28 Apr 2016 16:52 #74009 by harvolt
harvolt replied the topic: RugBot 1000
Sweet. thats some nice custom machine....!
06 Jul 2016 22:40 #77109 by OttoDidact
OttoDidact replied the topic: RugBot 1000
That's excellent. I love the weirdness that's possible with LinuxCNC. I believe in the cottage industry industrial revolution. Blazing your own trail is where it's at.

Rock on.
12 Jan 2018 18:14 #104353 by fabatecperu
fabatecperu replied the topic: RugBot 1000
please badger. what is hypot.. please I want to do this for a sewing machine..

please help me friend

thanks a lot have a nice day badger.
12 Jan 2018 23:48 #104373 by Badger
Badger replied the topic: RugBot 1000