CNC router from industial scrap

More
20 Jun 2021 07:32 - 21 Jun 2021 12:27 #212464 by Mr. Mass
As it is clear from topic name I am doing a CNC router (surprisingly, but still). For many years I have been buying various funny things from time to time and when the number of these things exceeded the critical mass, this machine was born. I still don't have a permanent workshop so I need to be able to quickly disassemble and move this CNC to another place. So this is a temporary installation and this is a tool for learning mostly. There is a lot of compromises in it and still a lot of work ahead, but at least by now the machine is up and running and it works, and works surprisingly well. In the past I helped setup different CNC, most of them were powered by mach3, but I am always interested in learning something new and have long wanted to try to figure out LinuxCNC.
So, this is my first attempt with both LinuxCNC and Linux in general and I am still doing my best to learn all of this. I would like to thank you all for your willingness and patience, without your advises and tips the making of this machine would be very delayed, if it were possible at all.

Last edit: 21 Jun 2021 12:27 by andypugh.
The following user(s) said Thank You: phillc54, arvidb, Clive S, johnmc1, BeagleBrainz

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
20 Jun 2021 07:35 #212465 by robertspark
nice

More
20 Jun 2021 08:49 #212466 by BeagleBrainz
Jolly good show old chap.

More
20 Jun 2021 11:52 #212478 by tommylight
Very nice, thank you.

More
03 Jul 2021 14:27 #213564 by my1987toyota
For something that is made from "industrial scrap" that looks really well made. Linux has a lot of similarities with windows so even though their is
a learning curve it isn't terrible.  Linuxcnc and Mach3 have similarities but their is a leaning curve . Get to know your manual and you will have lots