quadrature signal output for stepper

More
19 Jan 2012 12:11 #16935 by strykerg
hi all,

i am designing a microstepper board which is microcontroller based and was reading under the manual section: basic configuration> maximum step rate, that you can configure emc to output a quadrature signal instead of step/direction. this is from the manual: " If your stepper driver can accept quadrature input, use this mode. With a quadrature signal, one step is possible for each BASE_PERIOD, doubling the maximum step rate."

I've searched everywhere in the manuals and on the forums but found no clue on where to start to configure emc in such a way.

i have some experience with Hal, so please could anyone tell me where to start? what components i should use and maybe how to connect them?

thanks in advance

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 Jan 2012 12:13 #16936 by BigJohnT
All the step types are hidden here .

John

More
19 Jan 2012 12:25 #16940 by strykerg
ah so what i need to do is change the step type from the stepgen component.

thanks for your fast response, once i get home I'll try it out. can't wait :)

More
19 Jan 2012 20:03 #16952 by strykerg
ok so I managed to set it up - peice of cake thanks to that manual

however i got nowhere... no improvement at all. with my current base period of 30us, using step direction I can jog my 24microstepped axis at about 85mm/s, if I go any higher i get a following error which makes sense since at that speed, the step pin is switching at 30khz.

when i change to quadrature signal, the frequency on each phase is reduced by half... but still, if i go past the 85mm/s barrier i get a following error.

I thought the output steprate would have doubled whilst maintaining the same base period... did i do something wrong or missed something ?

More
19 Jan 2012 20:07 #16953 by strykerg
ok so I managed to set it up - peice of cake thanks to that manual