OpenCV vision with EMC/linuxcnc

More
16 May 2012 20:46 #20157 by edsimmons
HI EMC forumites,

I'm really sticking my neck out here, but I'd like to start the ball rolling with the pick and place guys... I'm a vision systems designer and I'm familiar with openCV, I've got an engraving machine and use EMC. Combined with the fact I design and build a lot of high spec electronics, a pick and place machine seems a logical progression.

I've read as much as I can find on integrating vision into EMC, I'm keen to make a start but I'm not familiar enough with EMC's structure to get things going.

Is there anyone out there who is willing to collaborate on this work? Ideally any willing volunteers would have an in depth knowledge of the core of EMC. I'm happy to contribute the eventual works back to the EMC/linuxcnc community.

I hope we can make a really solid platform for intelligent vision systems in EMC, the pairing of OpenCV and EMC seems to good to overlook.

My email is This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. - I'm keen to hear from anyone who's interested in helping out...

Best regards,
Ed

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 May 2012 00:37 #20161 by cmorley
Can you explain how you see the control loop working?
Does the openCV just send a simple signal back to linuxcnc or complex movement commands?

More
17 May 2012 00:48 #20163 by andypugh
cmorley wrote:

Does the openCV just send a simple signal back to linuxcnc or complex movement commands?

I imagine it would provide measured positions in a HAL component, for example fiducial line co-ordinates.
But I agree, the first part of the puzzle is to work out what the camera is for.

More
17 May 2012 07:08 #20168 by edsimmons

cmorley wrote:

I imagine it would provide measured positions in a HAL component, for example fiducial line co-ordinates.
But I agree, the first part of the puzzle is to work out what the camera is for.