hexapod configuration, oh my!

More
11 Apr 2014 02:35 #45816 by Thorpydo
Gentlemen,

I am wrapping up the mechanical integration of a hexapod that I am building and starting in on the software side. I am using a beagleboneblack running machinekit and linuxcnc. I am new to linux and am in over my head but have managed to boot up the hexapod module of linuxcnc on the BBB.

I believe my next move is to configure the hexapod module of linuxcnc so that it knows the machine geometry. To do this, I know that I need to edit hexapod.hal and genhehkins.h but I don't know how to actually do that. Where is the file located? How do I know which parameters to edit? How do I recompile afterwards? :ohmy: Where would be a good place to learn about all of this? I have setup 3 axis mach3 mill, but this is my first experience with linux and linuxCNC.

Another question; I have used the term hexapod to describe my machine but I am not completely sure that it is technically a hexapod. pkmcnc's hexapod uses ball screw arms that change in length. My machine is setup like a delta (fixed arm length, arm's upper fixture point moves on a linear slide):
www.3ders.org/articles/20120714-rostock-...inter-prototype.html
So that brings up the question, can I even configure the hexapod module for my machine?

Thanks,
Adam

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 Apr 2014 05:36 #45825 by Thorpydo
I'm diving in head first, starting with this page :)
wiki.linuxcnc.org/cgi-bin/wiki.pl?LinuxCNCKnowledgeBase
It sounds like anything is possible in LCNC, but the kinematics need to written first.

More
11 Apr 2014 05:53 - 11 Apr 2014 06:03 #45826 by cncbasher
firstly welcome to Linuxcnc ,
their are a number of areas you have covered so i'll try and tackle them , in some sort of order , the kins used is Lineardeltakins and is all ready installed in the machinekit image

so changing the kins shown at the top of the hal file will change this for you