More 6-axis kinematics, Yay!

More
08 Jul 2014 01:13 #48504 by AJBecker
I had great success in setting up Linux CNC on my Kondia knee mill and it has been in service now for about 2 (could be 3) years without so much as a hiccup. I'm now getting adventurous (read as stupid) and have decided to build my own 6-axis arm. I am painfully aware of the low success rate of these endeavours (although I do know of a couple that are working out of thousands of attempts) but I am pushing on regardless.

The good news is as follows:

1) I have actually completed the forward and inverse kinematics in python B) so the maths itself is not a problem and I won't be asking about D-H parameters :woohoo:
2) I have a CNC mill handy :P so making parts is easy enough.
3) The mechanical design is 95% done and I have started buying and making parts
4) I have a decent budget to work with - about $1000

The bad news is:

1) I am a mechanical engineer and don't even have a clue where to start with writing the kinematics module. The robot is not a puma configuration (it's actually a bit simpler with some kinematic decoupling) and I would rather write the module from scratch so that I understand it fully.
2) My programming skills are somewhat lacking. I know the basics but I may need to be babied a bit :blush:

I am very keen to get this done as an example to include with the standard distro

Most of the last 3 weeks have been spent with my nose buried in books and papers on serial manipulators and D-H parameters (deceptively simple) so I haven't had a chance to RTFM or download the source code but a broad overview of the process would be greatly appreciated.

Regards

Andrew

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
09 Jul 2014 05:03 #48547 by andypugh

More
15 Jul 2014 00:29 #48769 by AJBecker
Hey Andy