Trigger Dig. Out depending on the covered distance

More
17 Dec 2014 22:45 #54096 by TopperH
Hello everybody!

I'm building some kind of 3D-Printer with LinuxCNC and a Mesa 6i25 + 7i76 / 7i78 combination. Due to the help of this forum, the basics machine is working as expected. :) But I have a question regarding an advanced function.
(I'm quite new to LinuxCNC and this forum, so please excuse and move the thread if it is not that advanced and there might be a better sub-forum. ;) )

My problem ist, that I want to trigger one or maybe two of the 7i76s digital outputs depending on the traveled distance of the toolhead. So for example set DO_0 to HIGH after 10mm and back to LOW after another 2mm and so on...
( I don't have a coolant system, so I could use these outputs too, if this makes the whole task easier? :) )

I hope you could help me, thanks a lot in advance!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Dec 2014 03:30 #54102 by bkt
If your problem is how to connect DO-0 of mesa card..... I can't help you..... you need mesa expert..... if your problem is how to use motion.digital-out see motion.9 ....linuxcnc.org/docs/html/man/man9/motion.9.html ... M63_65 ..... custom component and probe is other two solution.

More
18 Dec 2014 17:30 #54118 by ArcEye
Hi

My problem ist, that I want to trigger one or maybe two of the 7i76s digital outputs depending on the traveled distance of the toolhead. So for example set DO_0 to HIGH after 10mm and back to LOW after another 2mm and so on...

The problem is not triggering an output per se, rather how it is done.

Need to know what you are intending doing with these outputs and why?
By toolhead are you talking about table travel in relation to the tool, or actual tool movement ie the quill / Z axis?

regards

More
18 Dec 2014 20:01 #54121 by TopperH
Hi!
And thanks for your answers and interest.
The connection itself will not be the problem. As ArcEye said it's the question of how it ist done.