Step and Dir Spindle, Spindle At Speed and RPM

More
30 Dec 2015 04:48 #67494 by bensbenz
Sorry if this is a double post, but I dont see my original post for some reason.

I converted my lathe to run LinuxCNC yesterday so I am a complete newb. So far I have managed to cobble together bits and pieces of code from the forums, IRC and the manual and I have managed to get just about everything working on my machine. One of the major items I cant seem to get working is Spindle At Speed. After I added the code for my step and direction spindle, my spindle encoder and the default RPM display, my spindle at speed indicator always reads true. I have no doubt screwed it up somehow, or perhaps maybe the logic is wrong given that my spindle is setup as an axis, I just dont understand enough about the entire system to know how to fix it. I am able to thread, and I do get an accurate RPM reading and my S word commands are all within a few RPM so I think I have done most of it correctly. If anyone could take a look at my files and help me that would be awesome.

Thanks!
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
31 Dec 2015 17:06 #67606 by andypugh
You have
net spindle-cmd => near.0.in1
net spindle-velocity => near.0.in2
But those signals are not connected anywhere else.

I suggest you try
net spindle-cmd-rps => near.0.in1
net spindle-velocity-rps => near.0.in2
Instead as those signals are connected to other bits of the HAL.

Note that signal names have no special meanings, and if you use a net command with a signal name that does not exist then you get a new signal with that name.

More
01 Jan 2016 18:15 #67657 by bensbenz

You have
net spindle-cmd => near.0.in1
net spindle-velocity => near.0.in2
But those signals are not connected anywhere else.

I suggest you try
net spindle-cmd-rps => near.0.in1
net spindle-velocity-rps => near.0.in2
Instead as those signals are connected to other bits of the HAL.