Teknic Clearpath-SC and LinuxCNC

More
17 Dec 2017 23:25 - 17 Dec 2017 23:32 #103259 by AardvarkTech
Hi LinuxCNC, my name is Mike, and I've been a lurker here for many years.

First let me say that I am NOT affiliated with Teknic in any way, and this is not a sales pitch. I'm a machinist, CNC programmer, and manufacturing engineer, and I've used ClearPath motors (mostly NEMA 34 MCPV versions) at work for various automation tasks and am interested in exploring other applications.

Has anyone looked closely at the Teknic Clearpath -SC series of motors, and/or actually opened up the s-foundation library and examined the capabilities of the software? I'm curious to know how difficult it would be to integrate the -SC functionality into LinuxCNC. I don't have any hands-on knowledge of either platform, as I'm only still in the researching phase of my DIY CNC adventures, but the possibilities seem intriguing.

Here's are a few really neat opportunities I've identified, just from reading through the available documentation and turning it over in my head for the last few months since the upgraded product line was released:
- The complete ClearPath line of integrated servo motors is now available in NEMA 56 and NEMA 143 frame sizes, with up to 4hp continuous / 8hp peak power (and can be powered from single phase 240V!). The very most expensive, highest power model is approximately $1,400. This makes these motors a very attractive option for main spindles on medium/small machines because of the built in capacity for spindle orient (maybe even for mill/turn applications?), rigid tapping, etc, as well as very high torque at low RPM (something which even the best VFD's struggle with, and at no small cost).