Spindle Speed to Serial Port

More
18 Jul 2010 09:59 #3403 by gangsta
Hi

I have just finished retrofitting my Denford Orac lathe with driver boards, and a PC running EMC. All is going well! The only part I cannot figure out is the spindle speed output. My VFD takes a 0-10v Analogue signal for spindle speed, and I cannot afford to buy a fancy controller board with analogue outputs. I am however quite handy with PIC processors.

Can someone tell me how to output the desired spindle speed to the Serial Port. I am new to linux and python, but im sure it will be a modified version of the thread here - www.linuxcnc.org/component/option,com_ku...tart,0/lang,english/

I guess the output to the serial could be something like S1000.

It would be handy to offload all the spindle controls to the board, for example start/stop/direction etc, or even better add some relay controls too. Basically all i/o that doesn't need to be realtime (will save pins on the parallel port card)

Examples: Tower lights (I have a red/green/blue lights for stopped/toolchange etc), coolant, door interlock, chuck clamp etc

What would be best to handle closed loop spindle speed, having emc monitor the spindle and send changes to the required speed, or just have emc send the speed, and the PIC lock onto the desired speed (still connect the encoder to emc for screw cutting etc)

Many thanks

Graham

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 Jul 2010 00:12 #3410 by Zig
Replied by Zig on topic Re:Spindle Speed to Serial Port
I am no great expert when it comes to HAL programing.. ( just starting to look at it with some degree of urgency) but it would seem to me that if You had a spare LPT port or card You would then be able to do a number of things directly and immediately through the second ( maybe even third LPT port) rather than using RS232 portsince i am sure there is a hal component to handle that kind of port.

More
19 Jul 2010 15:05 #3416 by andypugh