Laser Control using PWM

More
26 Jul 2019 14:32 #140656 by Sockheaven
I finally got around to purchasing a 15Watt laser to play around with and wanted to use the PWM abilities of LinuxCNC to control the intensity.

I have very little experience with LinuxCNC so I've been having a hard time trying to figure out the correct configuration in the INI and HAL files. I found another poster doing something very similar:
forum.linuxcnc.org/10-advanced-configura...pwm-output-for-laser
But in this post and others I've found, the jargon and references are going over my head so I was hoping to get some assistance.

A few questions/comments so far:
1. When I scope the spindle pwm signal the signal goes high before the cutting path starts (presumably to get the spindle up to speed) - but in the case of a laser, i don't want the laser pre-firing as it will etch outside of the desired path. What is the appropriate configuration so that this PWM only starts while the cutting path is active?

2. When I scope the spindle pwm signal, it appears on or off - not actually modulating. While looking at the configuration i realized I have no idea what is defining the spindle speed, I see where to define the path motion when generating the gcode from dxf, but i don't see anything for the spindle - where is this normally defined?

Attached are my current INI/HAL files, any assistance or direction would be awesome.

File Attachment:

File Name: my-mill_20...7-26.hal
File Size:4 KB

File Attachment:

File Name: my-mill_20...7-26.ini
File Size:2 KB

Thanks!
Paul
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Jul 2019 14:56 #140659 by tommylight

More
28 Jul 2019 21:11 #140839 by andypugh
Replied by andypugh on topic Laser Control using PWM