XYYZBC-str config

More
23 Aug 2020 23:40 #179159 by OT-CNC
XYYZBC-str config was created by OT-CNC
I'm working on a config for a gantry router with tilting/rotating spindle. I have looked over the docs and I'm trying to understand the differences between the kinematics as I'm new to anything beyond 4 axes.
For starters, I'm working on a standard 5 axis trivkins config with 6 joints, Y Y2 for gantry homing/squaring to get my mesa hardware connected and running.
If I understand correctly, TCP is not supported in trivkins? In trivkins mode, the head would work more like an indexer? For more complex work, TCP mode with proper CAM would work on 5axiskins and xyzbc−trt−kins only?
I looked at the vismach 5 axis bridge mill example and that's what I'm after with the addition of gantry squaring. Is that supported on 5axiskins or xyzbc−trt−kins? I don't follow if I need the additional W axis for tool offsets?
I read that in order to drive both Y axes, the kinematics module would have to be modified. I'm assuming it's, not as simple as modifying a hal or ini file for someone who hasn't programmed in C?
There is also switchKins that switches between modes. Has it be adapted and tested on a tilting/rotating head?
I'm on ver 2.8 and don't fully understand what each kinematics option has to offer and where I should focus my time. Any suggestions where to start?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
28 Aug 2020 13:23 #179831 by OT-CNC
Replied by OT-CNC on topic XYYZBC-str config
I'm still looking for guidance on the best 5 axis option

From another post from Andy:

Try running the sample simulator config sim/axis/vismach/5axis/bridgemill which should be a lot like your machine.

That uses this kinematics:
github.com/LinuxCNC/linuxcnc/blob/master...nematics/5axiskins.c