trying to better understand tool length offsets, electronic tool length sensor

More
04 Sep 2023 13:30 - 04 Sep 2023 13:34 #279827 by travis036
i have been building my machine for quite a while now, and still have no real idea of the whole procedure for setting offsets. keep in mind, i am a carpenter, thus my woodworking CNC router table, so precision machine setup is rather foreign to me.
A bit of machine background for those that do not know me. it is a Techno/ISEL 4-foot by 4-foot (rough working area) machine, that i have fitted an ATC spindle to in prep for building a linear tool rack. i have an electronic tool length sensor, but no material-top touch sensor yet. i do have a 3D probe, though.
so, my setup process so far has been a little weak. after homing, i just load in the tool i will be using, move the machine rapidly to the rough material origin, and then slowly align the tool visually to the origin, and for Z, i place a piece of paper down and slowly lower the Z until the paper no longer moves. then i set X,Y,Z zero.
so, being in the configuration category, my desire to understand is so i can develop some G-code macros to automate the process faster.
i have the toolchanger macro mostly done, though i need to actually build the rack to verify it. It includes calling a macro to check the tool lengths after change, though it is commented out for testing, as it probes, but I don’t think it does so correctly.
For reference, my entire running configs are at: github.com/travis-farmer/linuxcnc