Adding second X stepper to XYZ router

More
22 Feb 2011 02:03 #7364 by macmarty15221
I have a homemade gantry router rig. Control is based on a Geckodrive G540, which was easy to set up with StepConf.

I've noticed some yaw problems on the X axis, so I have obtained all of the hardware needed to install a second identical leadscrew assembly. One leadscrew will drive the near-side (Y=0) side of the gantry, the other will drive the far side of the gantry. (Y=30") To my newbie eyes, It looks like this is referred to as a XYZX configuration. The G540 will make the hardware a snap.

Today my question is "where do I start" on the EMC configuration side? I see a few threads here relating to debugging XYZX gantries, but nothing that helps me understand the jumping-off point, some general context in 25 words or less. :P I have a good software background, but I'm a total newb in this neighborhood. If someone can grab me by the shoulders and get me started in the right direction, it would be enormously appreciated. I really hate crafting square wheels when I suspect that perfectly round ones already exist.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
22 Feb 2011 09:08 #7367 by goaran
if you add a second stepper to the axis you dont have to configure anything.
Just connect the dir / step pin from your PC to both stepper controllers.

More
22 Feb 2011 11:28 #7371 by BigJohnT
The first thought I had was gantrykins. There is an example but it includes a THC so you would have to strip that out. ATM, I don't know anything about gantrykins and what it might add to the functionality of a gantry vs just tying both step and direction pins to the same output and or tying them together in hal.

The next thought that crossed my mind was homing... are you using home switches? If not then you could physically push the gantry to a square stop and turn on the machine power then home the Y axis.