× Forum Header

Errors with Xylotek controller

More
22 Oct 2012 03:31 #25579 by Sterling
Howdy all~!

I've downloaded and installed the LinuxCNC version 2.5.0 bundle (with Ubuntu 10.04) for a CnC Mill. I am using a Xylotec board with three stepper motors. The situation I am encountering is that Linux CNC software crashes when I attempt to run the config~!

I am new to Linux, and in reading through these forum boards I discovered that performing the CONFIG in the TERMINAL will give a more complete description. I hope that is true! Below are the steps I've taken and the results. I apologize if this is something that has been covered, but I could not discover it when I looked.

Thanx~!

#1) From the TERMINAL I entered: 'stepconf' and then following text is returned as the Configuration window appears:

/usr/bin/stepconf:1220: Warning: g_path_get_dirname: assertion `file_name != NULL' failed
self.xml = gtk.glade.xml_new_from_buffer(doc, len(doc), domain="linuxcnc")
/usr/bin/stepconf:1220: GtkWarning: gdk_pixbuf_new_from_file: assertion `filename != NULL' failed
/usr/bin/stepconf:1220: Warning: g_object_unref: assertion `G_IS_OBJECT (object)' failed
/usr/bin/stepconf:1220: GtkWarning: GtkSpinButton: setting an adjustment with non-zero page size is deprecated

So then, I click my way through the next couple screens and then reach the X-AXIS CONFIGURATION page. When I click on the [Test this axis] button the following displays on the terminal:

/usr/bin/stepconf:2239: GtkWarning: GtkSpinButton: setting an adjustment with non-zero page size is deprecated
widgets.testvel.set_range(0, maxvel)
/usr/bin/stepconf:2240: GtkWarning: GtkSpinButton: setting an adjustment with non-zero page size is deprecated
widgets.testacc.set_range(1, 3600)
/usr/bin/stepconf:2241: GtkWarning: GtkSpinButton: setting an adjustment with non-zero page size is deprecated
widgets.testamplitude.set_range(0, 36)