× Forum Header

LinuxCNC will not run after StepConf

More
01 Oct 2013 08:58 #39427 by crownGuy
I'm running LinuxCNC 2.5.2 and I'm new to the whole CNC thing but I know a decent bit of linux.

Linux CNC was running great, I had virtual configurations set up to practice using G-code/etc until my parts arrived.

I installed the drivers for my parallel port pci card and using 'lspci -v' saw that the card was registered with the OS.

Linux CNC still worked after that.

I ran a stepConf to include the address of my parallel port, and now Linux CNC crashes no matter what project I open, even sample projects.

I have attached my crash output and config folder for the project.

Thanks in advance!!!!
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
01 Oct 2013 10:09 #39428 by PCW
Maybe 0xE000 is not the parallel port address:

[ 1783.802503] PARPORT: ERROR: request_region(0xe000) failed

More
01 Oct 2013 15:01 #39436 by ArcEye

I installed the drivers for my parallel port pci card and using 'lspci -v' saw that the card was registered with the OS.

There are no drivers required for parport cards, any you install will conflict with the linuxcnc drivers, which may be the origin of this error

insmod: error inserting '/usr/realtime-2.6.32-122-rtai/modules/linuxcnc/hal_parport.ko': -1 Device or resource busy

Remove the drivers and try again

If no joy, run lspci -vv (2 v's) again and post the output section for your card.
Not impossible that 0xe000 is a data register and the port is whatever address is also listed, normally have a pair of addresses for each port, only one of which is the actual address.

regards
The following user(s) said Thank You: crownGuy

More
01 Oct 2013 23:10 #39449 by crownGuy
I will try uninstalling the drivers when I get to the machine next.