× Forum Header

Hot motors very noisy during certain G codes

More
05 Jul 2015 09:14 #60427 by ken5
Hey guys,

im new to CNC and just wired up a kit and got it running. I have it jogging smoothly, and it will run programs no problem... but, the motors get so hot you cant touch them, and they are very noisey when doing certain things. (eg G02 or going from G53 G0 X0 Y0 Z0 to G54 G0 X0 Y0 Z0)

the motors almost sound like they're creaking when they sound weird.

this is my setup.

Longs-motors

Nema 17
DB420a driver boards

DB25-1205 breakout board

my timing is

The dip switches are set to the lowest possible current setting and 200/1 step (all dip switches on)

max speed 4mm/s
accelleration 750mm/s2

like I said, if i jog the machine at up to 240mm/m it runs smooth. but if it goes slow it sometimes makes considerable noise.

Thanks for any help

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
05 Jul 2015 16:07 #60432 by ArcEye
Hi

This driver came up recently
www.linuxcnc.org/index.php/english/forum...uration-dm542a#60338

Your driver timings are at considerable variance to the recommended ones.

The dip switches are ..... 200/1 step (all dip switches on)

Why?
That just means it takes 40000 pulses to achieve one revolution of the motor, ignoring any gearing on top.

I would recommend taking that down to 8x max.
Microstepping is not gearing, it can only make moves a bit smoother up to a point, beyond that it has rapidly diminishing returns.

If you reduce your acceleration figure by a factor of 10 also, hopefully you will see some immediate benefits.

regards

More
05 Jul 2015 16:38 #60433 by ken5
Hello ArcEye! Thank you so much for your reply.

I don't believe im fully understanding you. So I have dip switches on the side of the driver board

www.longs-motor.com/productinfo/detail_12_80_148.aspx a picture of it here so you can see.

i have it set to 200 pulse/rev and micro 1. are you saying it should be set to 1600 pulse/rev and 8 micro?