× Forum Header

Homing not working but E Stop In is ?

More
23 Mar 2017 09:53 #90107 by uptown47
Hi all,

I'm just building my control panel for my CNC project. I'm a complete newbie to all this and I've come across a small problem.

I'm using an Arduino Mega as the "brain" of the machine. I want to be able to manually set the machine to "home" via 3 buttons on the control panel (X home, Y home, Z home).

I've got a generic Chinese Breakout Board.

Within StepConf I configured pin 11 to be "Home X".

When the Arduino detects the "X home" button pressed I send an output of 5V to the breakout board. But it doesn't seem to do anything?

I tried clicking the "invert" box in StepConf but still nothing.

I tried changing pin 11 to be "E Stop In" in StepConf and I can then see the Estop coming in and out on the LinuxCNC software when I press the "X home" button on my Control Panel.

I have set a position for x home of 100.0 in StepConf (the motors aren't connected to the machine at the moment as I've not yet built the machine so they can just turn forever without a problem).

If I go into the software and click "Home X" via the software then the X motor just keeps turning forever (i.e. way past the 100.0 setting). But putting either 5V or Gnd on Pin 11 doesn't mimic this behaviour?

Anyone know where I'm going wrong with this?

Thanks for any help you can give as I'm tearing my hair out (what's left of it). I realise it's hard to visualise my set up so if yoU want me to post pictures or more info then please ask.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
23 Mar 2017 12:31 #90115 by rodw
The parallel port I played with has active low inputs so it probably does not see the +5v signal from the Arduino. I would take the Arduino out of the equation for now and get the BOB to recognise signals on its inputs and once you understand how it works, introduce the Arduino and any supporting circuitry.
The following user(s) said Thank You: uptown47

More