× Forum Header

need help setting up, and troubleshooting config for a 48" X 48" X 5" router

More
17 Jun 2017 19:34 #94654 by travis036
i am fairly new to CNC, so please be gentile on me ;)

ok, i bought a Techno/Isel CNC router a while back, it is about 48" X 48" X 5" working area. all the components i have bought off eBay to get it operational again.

my stepper drivers are HY-DIV268N-5A, i don't have the stepper info on me at the time, but i can get it if needed.

now, i am not sure how to setup LinuxCNC for my hardware. i couldn't find any timing info for my stepper drivers, so if somebody knows the values i would be most grateful.
Here are the symptoms:
all axis will move fine when jogging with the test controls in StepConf Wizard, though the negative jog is a little more noisy than the positing movement. when i jog with LinuxCNC, it works the first time on all axis, but when i cycle back through, all axis make a lot of noise with no movement. also, when i set "Machine off", the steppers all buzz.

thoughts? suggestions?

Thanks in advance for any help.

~Travis

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 Jun 2017 20:50 #94655 by BigJohnT
Here is a stepper driver timing page from the wiki.
wiki.linuxcnc.org/cgi-bin/wiki.pl?Stepper_Drive_Timing

What values do you have now for step and direction timing?

JT

More
17 Jun 2017 20:57 #94656 by travis036
i am not at my machine right now, but the last driver setting i tried was for the Hobbycnc preset. i was trying to find one that would work for a base value to figure it out from.

~Travis

More
17 Jun 2017 21:01 #94657 by BigJohnT
Really you can't just guess at the numbers... there must be some info somewhere on the drive about timings. Start with the chinese blue board timings from the link I gave you.

JT

More
17 Jun 2017 21:07 #94658 by travis036