× Forum Header

Step Outputs Inactive

More
24 Aug 2017 14:34 #97964 by kylestrong87
Hi,

I am new to LinuxCNC and the forums. I have done a search but haven't found a similar problem or solution to my issue. I have been trouble shooting the outputs for a couple days now with now luck. At first I was getting zero output or input. After a fewer tests I ended up changing my LPT protocol in the BIOS from "PS/2" to "EPP". At this point I instantly got my limit switches and "DIR" outputs running correctly. But I am still having no "STEP" outputs coming from LinuxCNC. I suspect it is something I am missing in the set up of StepConf or LinuxCNC itself. I do not believe it is a driver issue because when i use the LPT test app that comes with LinuxCNC I can produce 5VDC on the "STEP" pins on the breakout board. I am using pins 2,4,6,8 for "STEP" and pins 3,5,7,9 for "DIR".

System Info:
LinuxCNC 2.7 (+plus linux from livecd)
CNC4PC C10 Breakout Board
4 Gecko G201
4 Stepper (3 Axis)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
24 Aug 2017 19:55 - 24 Aug 2017 19:56 #97973 by Todd Zuercher
Replied by Todd Zuercher on topic Step Outputs Inactive
Could you share your ini and hal files for your config? So we can check them for obvious errors.

PS: (This is totally unrelated to your step generation problem.)
I suspect that you are setting up a slaved gantry type machine (hence the 4 steppers for a 3 axis machine). If that is the case. It might be wise for you to run the Development version of Linuxcnc. (At least until version 2.8 is released.) It contains support for assigning more than one motor to an axis, and homing and squaring them in the homing routine.
But you need to be aware that 2.8-Pre is currently the "develoment branch" and updates need to be made with cation, as changes in the code can introduce bugs or break configs. That said, many people use it safely for running real machinery.
Last edit: 24 Aug 2017 19:56 by Todd Zuercher.

More