× Forum Header

Setting up step conf when using a gearbox

More
14 Feb 2019 17:30 #126474 by MONKEY0683
Hi I am new to this whole system. After spending over a year building a cnc router and working through some little niggles I have come across a problem that I would like some help with.

I am using 425oz-in nema 23 stepper's
Running a 10-1 planetary gearbox that is then connected to a 36tooth 5mm pitch drive pulley and belt.

I have set my step config as
200steps
8th microstepping
10-1 pulley
180mm per rev.

The problem is that when I try and test the axis the motors don't move. If I then lower my distance per rev to.0.18 mm I can get the pulley to move but I don't get a full rotation.

I'm sure this is all old hat and has been all discussed and sorted before but I generally don't have enough time to keep looking.

Any help or live walk through would be seriously appreciated.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 Feb 2019 20:33 #126491 by Todd Zuercher
First I think you have probably entered your gear box ratio backwards in Stepconfig.
Your scale that should be entered in your ini file should be 88.89steps/mm.

If you are not getting movement check that:
1. The drive is enabled and powered (motor is locked and you can't turn it by hand.)
2. Do a sanity check of your max acceleration and max velocity, this is specified in units/second in the ini file (mm/sec for a mm config.)
3. Check your drives minimum step and step space timings, and make sure you have set those settings in Stepconfig to at least 130-200% of those specified by your drive's documentation. Remember these numbers in Linuxcnc are specified in nano seconds. If your drive's docs specifies these in microseconds, be sure to adjust them appropriately (x1000).
4. Double check your drive wiring.

More
15 Feb 2019 10:25 #126529 by MONKEY0683
hi Todd, thanks for the reply.