× Forum Header

Beginners help with latency error / loosing steps

More
06 Jan 2021 23:02 #194306 by Raph
Hey People,

Im new to LinuxCNC, an while I've been digging into it for a few weeks and getting quite far on my own, now im stuck - And would love some professional eyes on my case.

I bought a pre-bulit 3 axis from a hobbyist a while ago. Machine is wonderfully configured, very sound construction. Software... well, i don't know.
Now after some minor adjustments and finally (!) getting my tool probe working properly, i have had two occurrences of loosing steps on Y axis, which is moving the heavy gantry. Simultaneously, i always get a latency warning on startup ("RTAPI: ERROR: Unexpected real time delay on task 1"). Wich also manifests itself in a short freeze of the PC when loading larger gcodes (10 mb and up). At least i guess those issues might be connected - Im a little out of my depth here.
Im running of an old Dell Optiplex 960, sporting a E8000 Processor. I did all the BIOs settings as recommended. So what else could i do? Stepper tuning? (Is that even related to latency issues?) Any ideas?

Looking forward to your help!

All the very best,

Raph.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
07 Jan 2021 08:08 #194333 by tommylight
Parallel port ? Or Mesa ?
If parallel, edit the ini file found in the machine configuration folder and set the Base_period higher, test several times till you get no more warnings.
Beware that that will limit the velocity and might cause joint errors, so the joint/axis velocities will have to be lowered for each axis.

More
07 Jan 2021 14:52 #194361 by Raph
Im on Parallel port.
As a bloody beginner Im hesitant to change any values without knowing what they actually do. Im still reading the manual and sereral posts, and lets just say: it's not a concept that comes naturally to me.
I did a few latency tests, usually around 16000, highest ever recorded was 18000.