× Forum Header

Only 1 axis responds after initial setup

More
10 Oct 2010 04:17 - 10 Oct 2010 04:21 #4602 by Razorbackhog
Hi everyone! I am new to CNC, EMC2, and fairly new to Linux.

My Y-axis responds (not completely sure correctly yet), but my X and Z-axis do not even energize the motors, let alone move them.

I am using the following components:
Controller – TB6560 3-axis and spindle (not using spindle)
Motors – Vexta PK266-2a. 1.8 degree or 200 step. 6 wire (only 4 used; black A+, yellow A-, red B+, white B-, blue and green not used).
Power supply – 115v AC input, 24v DC 6.5a output.

When I wired it up and first energized the system, there were 3 lights on the controller board, when going through the step config one light went out. I originally did not know what to put in the parallel port settings that corresponded with the “X-axis enable” that was in the step config. I found a post that stated you needed to substitute “amplifier enable” and tried that. The Y-axis then responded after that, but the X and Z did not. There are still two LEDs lit on the board.

I am guessing the issue is either:
the parallel port settings in the step config
motor wiring (not likely since Y responds)
wiring (possible that there is a loose connection somewhere in both X and Z)

Can I randomly change the parallel port settings without causing damage to the controller or motors?

I have attached a composite photo of the step config windows and the documentation that came with the controller.
Attachments:
Last edit: 10 Oct 2010 04:21 by Razorbackhog. Reason: Attach TB6560 controller board manufacturers docs

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 Oct 2010 16:22 #4607 by cmorley
You need to do a lot more explaining before anyone will/can help you.
What have you tried to troubleshoot it your self?
What is different between the axis that works and the one that doesn't.

More
12 Oct 2010 02:46 #4632 by Razorbackhog