× Forum Header

Trouble getting StarTech PEX1P2 card to get work with stepconf

More
28 Mar 2023 07:46 - 28 Mar 2023 11:07 #267674 by penguinman
Hello, LinuxCNC newbie here. I just bought a StarTech PEX1P2 PCIe to Parallel port card to add a parallel port to my computer for using with LinuxCNC.

When I launch Stepconf from the terminal I get the error message "No parport found" and no parport can be found in /dev

I have tried most things in these posts: So far I have tried:
  • Enabling the I/O ports with `echo 1 > enable`
  • Enabling parport and parport_pc (with and without the io= irq= parameters). If I specify io=<address> /dev/parport0 appears but doesnt seem to work, as not even the ptest.hal port tester would launch.
  • Compiling the drivers for AX99100 (a patched version that actually could compile) myself and modprobing it.
  • Running ptest.hal with various different addresses
  • Various combinations of the above

I am using LinuxCNC 2.10.0~pre0 and the 4.19.0-23-rt-amd64 kernel

The output of `sudo lspci -v` directly after user login:
03:00.2 Parallel controller: Asix Electronics Corporation Device 9100 (prog-if 03 [IEEE1284])
        Subsystem: Device a000:2000
        Physical Slot: 3
        Flags: fast devsel, IRQ 5
        I/O ports at d010 [disabled]
=8        I/O ports at d000 [disabled]
=8        Memory at ef101000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [disabled] [size=4K]
        Memory at ef100000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [disabled] [size=4K]
        Capabilities: [50] MSI: Enable- Count=1/8 Maskable- 64bit+
        Capabilities: [78] Power Management version 3
        Capabilities: [80] Express Legacy Endpoint, MSI 00
        Capabilities: [100] Advanced Error Reporting

Been stuck trying to get this card to work for about 7 hours now, so all help is greatly appreciated!

Edit: