× Forum Header

can't get z-axis to work

More
16 Aug 2009 21:05 #709 by duncan9
I have a 3 axis stepper kit from Probotix . I used the config wizard and enabled the pins x,y, and z but the z axis stepper does not turn at all .The x and y axis steon what to doppers work great . I need some help I am new to this whole thing . I have the machine all built but this software part has me scratching my head on to do .

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
16 Aug 2009 23:14 #710 by cmorley
Replied by cmorley on topic Re:can't get z-axis to work
First things to do is figure out if the signals are sent out from the parport and/or see if the step drive otherwise works
Does the pin you designated for z actually make pulses? a multimeter or an LED could tell you that.
Does the z drive work if you connect it to the x or y pulse pins?
You say the z axis motor does not turn, but does it try?
The Z axis often has more problems because it is harder to move.
Maybe the motor/drive does not have enough power for the speed / torque you want.

More
17 Aug 2009 00:47 #711 by duncan9
Replied by duncan9 on topic Re:can't get z-axis to work
Hi
I forgot to mention that all 3 axis work fine if I use Mach 3 as the controller software .

More
17 Aug 2009 01:43 #713 by BMG
Replied by BMG on topic Re:can't get z-axis to work
In the wizard, are you able to "test" the Z axis? Make sure you start with low numbers and work upwards.

How heavy is the Z axis also? How large or small were the settings you used in Mach to get the Z working?

More
19 Aug 2009 02:03 #723 by duncan9
The z-axis stepper is not connected to the lead screw yet . When I test the z axis stepper it loses the holding torque and is not energized at all .

More
19 Aug 2009 02:13 - 19 Aug 2009 02:16 #724 by BMG
Replied by BMG on topic Re:can't get z-axis to work
So when you start EMC, the stepper is holding? Then when you test the axis, it loses torque?