× Forum Header

BROKEN PIPE REPOON SETUP WHEN TRYING TO JOG MOTORS

More
09 Mar 2011 19:20 #7672 by naps
Greetings all

Can anyone help me.

I am new to Linux and CNC and the only programming I have done was in GWBasic on a ZX81 back in 1982.

I am trying to set up 4-wire 200 stepper motors on StepConf via Gecko 203V drives and a Mach3 breakout board on a dedicated HDD containing only LinuxEMC 10.4.

I get a 'broken pipe" report on trying to jog the motor in its test routine.

Does that mean the program cannot see the ports or does it mean there is a programming error in StepConf?

The motors work in DOS on Turbocnc on a different HDD.

I have given up trying to use Mach3 on XP as it cannot seem to find/hang onto the ports even with its port grabber.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 Mar 2011 01:24 #7673 by cmorley
A broken pipe usually means there was a problem with stepconf talking to HAL.
If you run stepconf from a terminal then you will see a more detailed error message.
Are you using a real time kernel?
Can you run an EMC sample config with no errors?
How did you get EMC on the hard drive? live CD?

More
10 Mar 2011 05:21 #7674 by naps
Hi - thanks for the response.

I downloaded the 10.04 live CD off this home page and installed it on a formatted HDD.
I dont know anything about real time kernels - in my part of the world we just salute them ;)
When I get back to my radio shack after work I will try and run a sample config.

Is it imperative to install a video card? I am running off the motherboard's video unit.

I am still waiting for Vodacom to tell me how to install the Huawei E220 modem to run on Linux so I am offline on that PC as regards updates etc. I cannot seem to find any solution that works for an E220 from what I can see on Google.

More
10 Mar 2011 08:05 #7677 by Rick G
Hello,

Did you run the latency test and for how long?
What port and address are you using?